Learner Knowledge Test in Australia: DKT, VIC LPT and QLD Test

How the learner knowledge test works in NSW (DKT), Victoria (Learner Permit Test) and Queensland: formats, pass marks, fees as of 2026 and how to study.

Last updated: 5 min readCo-Drive Editorial

In this article
  1. The three tests compared
  2. NSW: the Driver Knowledge Test
  3. Victoria: the Learner Permit Test
  4. Queensland: written test or PrepL
  5. What these tests focus on
  6. How to prepare
  7. After you pass
  8. Summary
  9. About Co-Drive

The learner knowledge test is the road rules test you pass to get your Ls in Australia. In NSW it's the Driver Knowledge Test (DKT), in Victoria the Learner Permit Test, and in Queensland the written road rules test or the online PrepL course. All three can be done online through a 4 to 6 hour course with a test at the end, you can enrol from 15 years and 11 months, and the questions are based on your state's official handbook. Pass marks are high, so careful study pays off.

Here's how each state's test works and how to prepare, as of 2026.

The three tests compared

NSW DKT VIC Learner Permit Test QLD road rules test / PrepL
Online option 4–6 hour course and test 4–6 hour course and test PrepL, around 4–6 hours
Questions Not stated on the official page 32 (per VicRoads practice test) 30
Pass mark Not stated on the official page 78% Written: 9/10 giving way and 18/20 road rules. PrepL: 27/30
Study source Road User Handbook Road to Solo Driving Your keys to driving in Queensland
Fee (as of 2026) $58 First online attempt free; $28.70 after $29.70

NSW: the Driver Knowledge Test

You can do the DKT two ways:

  • Online: an interactive course and test that takes 4 to 6 hours. You can enrol from 15 years and 11 months, but you can only apply for a learner licence at 16. One fee gives you unlimited attempts until you pass, and you pay it when you go to a service centre to apply for your licence.
  • In person: a multiple-choice computer test at a service centre, for those 16 or older. You book and pay $58 for each attempt (fees effective 1 July 2026).

The online DKT is available in English, Simplified Chinese, Arabic, Spanish, Vietnamese, Korean, Thai, Farsi and Traditional Chinese. The in-person test adds languages such as Greek, Turkish, Croatian and Serbian, and interpreters are available.

NSW's official page doesn't currently publish the number of questions or pass mark for the car DKT, so be wary of figures on unofficial sites. Study the Road User Handbook (free to download) and use the official NSW practice test.

Victoria: the Learner Permit Test

VicRoads recommends the online course and test: it takes about 4 to 6 hours, you have 12 months to finish the course after enrolling, and your first attempt is free. Further online attempts cost $28.70. You can only take the test in person at a VicRoads Customer Service Centre if you want another language or don't have access to a computer; the in-person test costs $28.70 plus a $22.10 appointment fee.

VicRoads' practice test has 32 questions like the real test, with a 78% pass mark, and questions are based on all four chapters of the Road to Solo Driving handbook. The online course covers road safety and rules: parking, giving way, signs and markings, managing speed and fatigue, and avoiding drink and drug driving.

Queensland: written test or PrepL

Queensland's written road rules test has 30 multiple-choice questions in two sections:

  • giving way: at least 9 of 10 correct;
  • road rules and licence requirements: at least 18 of 20 correct.

You can only take it once a day, you pay for each attempt ($29.70 as at 1 July 2026), and a pass is valid for five years.

PrepL is the online alternative: a course with built-in assessment that takes around 4 to 6 hours. You have 12 months from enrolment to finish, and you need 27 of 30 (90%) to pass.

Study Your keys to driving in Queensland, the state's official guide, and try the official practice road rules test.

What these tests focus on

Across all three states, expect questions on:

  • giving way at intersections, roundabouts, T-intersections and pedestrian crossings (Queensland makes this its own section);
  • signs and road markings, including school zones;
  • speed limits and safe following distances;
  • alcohol and drugs, including zero BAC for learners and P platers;
  • learner and provisional licence conditions in your state;
  • parking rules, such as distances from intersections and hydrants.

Give giving-way questions extra study time: they depend on specific intersection layouts, and Queensland requires 9 out of 10 in that section alone. Our roundabouts guide explains the principles (written for the UK, where you also drive on the left).

How to prepare

  1. Read your state's handbook completely. Questions come from every chapter.
  2. Draw intersections. For each giving-way scenario, sketch who arrives where and work out who goes first.
  3. Make a numbers sheet: BAC limits, speed limits for learners and P platers, parking distances, demerit thresholds.
  4. Use official practice tests and treat every wrong answer as a pointer back to the handbook.
  5. Do the online course properly. It's built to teach, not just test, and the NSW and Victorian versions let you retry.
  6. Don't use "real DKT question" dumps. They're unofficial, may be outdated and can teach rules from the wrong state.

After you pass

You'll get your learner licence and L plates, and the real learning starts. Read our L and P plate rules guide before your first drive, and see how to get your licence in Australia for the full path.

Summary

The learner knowledge test is state-based: the DKT in NSW ($58, unlimited online attempts), the Learner Permit Test in Victoria (32 questions, 78%, first online attempt free) and the written test or PrepL in Queensland (30 questions with strict section pass marks). Study your state's handbook, master giving way, and use official practice tests.

About Co-Drive

Co-Drive is an iOS app for learner and new drivers. Its driving technique lessons and defensive driving habits apply on any road; it does not yet include Australian state-specific test practice, its questions are not official test questions, and it isn't affiliated with any government agency. Find out more.

Frequently asked questions

How many questions are on the Victorian Learner Permit Test?

VicRoads says its practice test has 32 questions like the actual test, with a 78% pass mark, and that the questions are based on all four chapters of the Road to Solo Driving handbook.

How many questions are on the Queensland written road rules test?

Thirty, in two sections: you need at least 9 of 10 on giving way and 18 of 20 on road rules and licence requirements. The online PrepL test also has 30 questions and needs 27 correct.

How much is the DKT in NSW?

As of 1 July 2026, the NSW Driver Knowledge Test costs $58. Online, that covers unlimited attempts and is paid when you pass and apply for your licence; in person it's $58 per attempt.

Can I do the learner test online?

Yes, in all three states. NSW and Victoria offer online courses with a test at the end (about 4 to 6 hours), and Queensland offers PrepL. In Victoria, the in-person test is mainly for people who need another language or have no computer access.

Are there official DKT practice questions?

Each state offers official practice: NSW has an online practice test, VicRoads has a practice Learner Permit Test, and Queensland has a practice road rules test. Use those rather than unofficial 'real question' lists.

Sources

  1. NSW Government: Driver Knowledge Test (DKT)
  2. NSW Government: Driver and rider licence fees
  3. VicRoads: Learner Permit Test
  4. VicRoads: Practice learner permit knowledge test
  5. VicRoads: Ls and Ps fees
  6. Queensland Government: Driver tests, written and online
  7. Queensland Government: Driver licence fees

This article is general guidance and does not replace official sources. Rules and prices change, so check the linked sources before you act.

← All posts

PRIVACY

This website uses no analytics, advertising or marketing cookies. After you confirm, a small preference record valid for six months is written to your browser’s localStorage to remember your choice. It is not a cookie and is never sent off the site.

Necessary preference record

Used to remember your choice.

Necessary
Analytics and advertising

Not used on this site.

Not used